Omaha ElderCare Resource Handbook:
Driving Concerns

NEBRASKA

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
www.dmv.ne.gov
www.clickdmv.ne.gov (DMV services online)
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE  68509
402-471-3861 (general)
402-471-3918 (handicapped plates/permits)
Driver & Vehicle Records Division
PO Box 94789
Lincoln, NE  68509
Driver Licensing Division
PO Box 94726
Lincoln, NE  68509
Douglas County Treasurer
www.dctreasurer.org
402-444-7103
Sarpy County Treasurer
www.sarpy.com/treasurer
402-593-2148
Washington County Treasurer
www.co.washington.ne.us
402-426-6888
Dodge County Treasurer
www.dodgecounty.ne.gov
402-727-2750

Handicapped License Plates

To obtain Handicapped License Plates in Nebraska, the individual must have a certified medical condition that limits personal mobility resulting in the their inability to travel more than two hundred feet without assistance such as a wheelchair, crutch, walker, prosthetic or other device.

Only the owner or lessee of the car or their legal guardian may apply for handicapped plates.  Applications may be picked up at the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or downloaded at www.dmv.ne.gov/dvr.  All forms must have the medical portion filled out by a physician and be submitted for approval either in person to the DMV or by mail to the DMV address above.  The applicant is notified in writing when plates are available.  This notification letter must be presented to the County Treasurer in the applicant’s county of residence.  All fees must be paid when the plates are picked up.  A new Permanent Handicapped Parking Permit may be requested along with the plates. The permit will be mailed along with the approval letter.

A Handicapped License Plate must be renewed every six years through the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Handicapped Parking Permits

Handicapped Parking Permits are available at no charge to individuals who qualify.  To qualify, the individual must have a certified medical condition that limits personal mobility resulting in their inability to travel more than two hundred feet without assistance.

Only the handicapped individual or the motor vehicle to which the permit was assigned can use the permit and each handicapped individual is allowed 1-2 permits.  The permit should hang on the rearview mirror only when the vehicle is parked.  Permits may be permanent (blue) and valid for 6 years or temporary (red) and valid for either 3 or 6 months.  A Nebraska licensed medical professional may submit your permit request online at www.clickdmv.ne.gov.  Applications may also be picked up at the DMV or downloaded at www.dmv.ne.gov/dvr.  These forms must be filled out by a  physician and mailed along with a copy of your identification to the DMV address listed on the previous page.  Once the application is processed, the permit is mailed directly to the applicant.

Both permanent and temporary permits are renewed in the same manner as the original.  Permits may be renewed up to 180 days in advance but will not be mailed until 10 days before expiration.

 Reporting an Unsafe Driver

A family member, physician, law enforcement officer or other concerned citizen can file a report requesting an evaluation of a driver whose skills they question.  They must complete a Citizen Reexamination Report or other document stating specific concerns.  It should identify the driver and describe their concerns along with any other relevant information. The letter must be signed and dated and include a copy of the requestor’s driver’s license if available.  This report can be found at the examiner’s office or downloaded at www.transportation.nebraska.gov/nohs/granddriver.html.  Mail the letter to the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Licensing Division.  Email requests are not accepted.

The DMV will review the report and the individual’s driving record.  The requestor may be contacted for more information.  If sufficient cause is found, the driver in question will be required to complete a new written and driving test as well as submit a current vision and medical statement within 25 days.  If the license is canceled for vision or medical reasons, they may appeal through the DMV’s Medical Advisory Board.  If it is canceled because of a failure to pass the written or drive test, they may retake those anytime.

IOWA

Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Driver Services 
www.iowadot.gov
PO Box 9204
Des Moines, IA  50306
800-532-1121
515-244-8725
Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services
www.iowadot.gov
PO Box 9278
Des Moines, IA  50306
515-237-3110
Pottawattamie County Treasurer’s Office
www.iowataxandtags.org
Pottawattamie County Court House
227 South 6th Street
Council Bluffs, IA  51501
712-328-5631

Handicapped License Plates

Handicapped License Plates are available at no additional charge to individuals who qualify.  They must still pay their regular annual vehicle registration fee.  To obtain Handicapped License Plates in Iowa, the handicapped individual must have a certified medical condition that limits personal mobility resulting in the applicant’s inability to travel more than two hundred feet without assistance.

Only the owner or lessee of the car or their legal guardian may apply for handicapped plates.  Applications may be picked up at the County Treasurer’s office, any Iowa DOT’s full service driver’s license site, the Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services or found online at www.iowadot.gov.  The applicant must submit the application along with a signed medical statement on letterhead indicating whether the disability is temporary or permanent to their County Treasurer’s office or the Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services.  The plates will be sent to the county treasurer and they will be notified when available.  All fees must be paid at this time and old plates and registration must be turned in.  The Handicapped License Plates must be validated each year.  Handicapped Parking Stickers may be used in lieu of the handicapped plate at no extra charge and may only be obtained at the Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services using the same application.  The stickers are valid as long as the motor vehicle registration is current.

Handicapped Parking Permits

Handicapped Parking Permits are available at no charge to individuals who qualify.  To obtain Handicapped Parking Permits in Iowa, the handicapped individual must have a certified medical condition that limits personal mobility resulting in the applicant’s inability to travel more than two hundred feet without assistance.  Only the handicapped individual or the motor vehicle to which the permit was specifically assigned can use the permit and each handicapped individual is allowed 1-2 permits.  The permit holder’s signature must be on the permit for it to be valid.  Permits may only be used by the applicant and should hang on the rearview mirror only when the vehicle is parked.  Permits may be permanent and do not expire or temporary and expire in 6 months unless otherwise denoted by their physician.  Applications may be picked up at the County Treasurer’s office, any Iowa DOT full service driver’s license site, the Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services or found online at www.iowadot.gov.  The applicant must submit the application along with a signed medical statement on letterhead indicating whether the disability is temporary or permanent to any Iowa DOT full service driver’s license site or the Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services.

Reporting an Unsafe Driver

A family member, physician, law enforcement officer or other concerned citizen can file a report requesting an evaluation of a driver whose skills they question.  They must document specific concerns in a letter and send it to the Office of Driver Services address on the previous page.  The letter must be signed and your name will be given to the person if asked.  Include the driver’s name, address, date of birth and driver’s license number if known.  The office will review the request and determine if the individual should retake the written and drive tests.  They have 30 days to obtain a physician’s clearance to drive and to retake the written and driving tests.  If the driver refuses to take the test or fails, their license will be suspended and they will be given the opportunity to test again or as a final option, to file an administrative appeal.  If a medical report states the person should not drive, their license will be suspended and they may file an administrative appeal.

Driving Assessments and Classes

AAA Nebraska
www.seniordriving.aaa.com
Drivers 65 Plus (self assessment tool)
Older and Wiser Driver, The (brochure & video)
Roadwise Review (self-test CD-ROM or online)
Senior Defensive Driving Course (online defensive driving course)
402-390-1000
AARP Driver Safety
www.aarp.org/states/ne
1941 South 42nd Street, Suite 220
Omaha, NE  68105
Driver Safety Program  (8 hour course)
Driving Resource Center (interactive online driving resource)
402-398-9568
CHI Health Immanuel Rehabilitation Center
Driver Evaluation
www.chihealth.com/driverevaluation
402-572-3055
CHI Health Immanuel Rehabilitation Center
Driver Rehabilitation Program
www.chihealth.com/driverevaluation
402-572-2295
Cornhusker Driving School
(skills assessment & training)
www.cornhuskerdriving.com
402-707-8689
Methodist Health System Driver Rehabilitation Program
www.bestcare.org
8303 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE  68114
402-354-4670
National Safety Council Nebraska
Coaching the Mature Driver
www.safenebraska.org
402-898-7361

Return to the Omaha ElderCare Handbook